real but unfavourable

At Cultura: Aesthetics and Contemporary Art II

An Austrian artist, Ewald Hotz, was recently contacted by ATcultura too. While I assumed it was a vantiy press, Ewald went through the trouble of obtaining an application form to prove this. A Google search for the show also returns less than promising results.

"Princeton" Premier Registry

I don't even quite know how to categorize this one. These guys are obviously not Princeton, and I'm surprised Princeton isn't trying to shut them down (or maybe they are, and I just don't know about it).

Hot off the presses: a presistent vanity press

Today, I received an email for the "2009 international encyclopaedic dictionary of modern and contemporary art".

Scams declining?

I havne't posted anything in months because I haven't received any scams... at least not the shipping scams. Perhaps they know I'm reporting all of them here?

I have, however, been receiving an onslaught of email from organizations which offer real services, but where the costs vastly outweigh the benefits. Here's an example:

artoteque.com

On Friday, I got a nice little call for artists from artoteque.com. Their email tells me that "The information contained in this electronic message is information intended for the use of only the individual or entity named above and may be PRIVILEGED and CONFIDENTIAL", so take a look at the call on their website instead.

Musicians need to beware too!

I received an email the other day for IACmusic.com, with the subject-line "about your music (an opportunity), please read..". This triggered all sorts of warning bells because (a) the email address is for Artifice, the mailing list I manage for arts & culture in the Waterloo Region and (b) what music?

2008 International Encyclopaedic Dictionary Of Modern And Contemporary Art

For a while in December, I was starting to wonder whether the scammers were moving on because I haven't gotten any spam in a while, but I guess they were just taking a break (at least from my email address).

This week, I received an email about the 2008 International Encyclopaedic Dictionary Of Modern And Contemporary Art which starts:

We beg to inform you that we are preparing the 15th edition of the prestigious 2008 INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPAEDIC DICTIONARY OF MODERN AND CONTEMPORARY ART, which will also be published on the Internet.

It goes on to tell me how great the dictionary will be and that it'll be sold online. Attached is the submission form (in two formats--PDF and .doc), with a section at the bottom asking how many copies you would like to purchase. The form indicates:

There is no charge for inclusion. You are only required to order one or two copies of the book.

Big changes at Flickr - Artists beware

Flickr is a photo-sharing website launched in 2004 and acquired by Yahoo! in 2005. Although the service has been very useful for organizing and sharing photos, artists are enouraged to revisit their Terms & Conditions, along with their new changes.

Some noteworthy articles:

Fullfat Publications - 2nd Update

After some correspondence with Fullfat Publications, they have set up a website for their publication company to provide artists with more information about them and the books: http://www.fullfatpublishing.com

Update on Fullfat Publications request

It seems the address provided by Dennison included a typo---it should have been "Birch" not "Bitch". This would explain why I was not able to find such a lewdly named street. The address seems to belong to his website design company, and I'm assuming he is using the same address for his [new?] publication company.

Powered by Drupal - Design by artinet